Ode to Coconut Oil

With the ringing in of the new year, I vowed to honor my being in quite a few ways. One of them was an overhaul on my skin care regime. I decided that my skin deserves better than crazy chemicals and who knows what else goes into certain beauty and skin care products.

What does this actually entail? Aside from giving up makeup (besides the occasional mascara application when I’m feeling rowdy) and all those so-called miracle creams, powders, scrubs…, I follow every shower with a healthy slather of coconut oil onto every inch of my body. This ritual has become one of my favorite parts of the day. I relish in the greasy goodness.

An unexpected perk: whenever I do parsvottanasana in ashtanga, my legs emit a popcorn-y odor.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Ode to Coconut Oil

  1. Martha

    yummy popcorn skin. it actually is good to pop popcorn in coconut oil

  2. I love using coconut oil! I’ve actually started using pure olive oil, too– they all work great! 🙂

  3. I love coconut oil too! Just a little makes my nails stronger, my skin glow and my hair shine (and not in a greasy way either!). Did you see the news about some cosmetics companies having lead and other undisclosed metals in them? It reminded me that even if we don’t know it’s in there, it still effects me – ignorance won’t matter a dime. That means that for a few years way back when I was using Clinique, I was putting lead on my face every day. So glad to be a little more aware these days 🙂

    • I know what you mean about being grateful for awareness! I like to look back at all of the knowledge that I have acquired.
      It’s a great practice to remember that yesterday’s truth is different than today’s. We’re always learning and evolving!

Holla back young'n

